Time

I guess I haven’t had much to say as of late.  Or rather, It’s the same stuff as before and you don’t want to hear that.  My situation hasn’t changed, and I guess that’s OK.  It is what it is.

For some reason I really enjoy young adult books.  Perks of Being A Wallflower By Stephen Chobsky is probably my favorite book of all time.  I’ve read it countless times and really take to the main character,  “Charlie”.  I see a lot of myself in him.  I guess I like these books because I am able to go back in time to relive my high school years in a different/better way than the way mine panned out.  I guess I have a lot of regrets.  I just read The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp, and that was pretty good too.  The movie was good as well but you didn’t get the same inner monologue of Sutter Keeley like you do in the book.  I suppose that’s a hard thing to do though.  Another book I enjoyed was “It’s kind of a Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini.  They of course made a movie about it, and it was OK, which is typically the case.  The book is about a 15 year old kid who checks himself into a psych ward because of depression.  He tries to cope with his depression and get himself to the point of being able to deal with it.  I guess I was hoping for a quick solution to my mental state, which didn’t happen.

I’ve been dropping music that I’ve been listening to lately so I’ll throw a couple out there.

Die Antwoord has some of the most fucked up videos that I’ve seen, Kind of like A Harmony Korine movie.

 

I saw Marriages 2 years ago, and while the live show was good, this record is great.  Emma’s vocals are really good, very low and almost like a female trying to sing like a male, but in a good way.  Musically shoegaze, wall of sound production, very thick bass, great guitar riffs.  One of my favorite albums  (EP) of the last couple years.

 

And one of my favorite songs by The Tea Party And Jeff’s awesome voices isn’t even on it.

 

Leave a comment